Joe Vestich – Steal the Wind

Thunder Mountain Records – 2021

Throughout his lengthy career, Joe Vestich has been involved in several recording projects as the singer in various bands, or as a songwriter in collaboration with other artists. However, in the autumn of 2019, for the first time Joe began recording an album comprised completely of his own songs, which despite continuous obstacles beginning in March 2020 due to the coronavirus, was completed by summer of that year. The album was originally planned to be released in the following autumn, but with the continuation of the pandemic, resulting in crippling restrictions on the live music industry, the progress of the record release had been delayed.

Nevertheless, the challenges were eventually overcome, and the full album, which is titled “Steal the Wind” was officially released on November 12th, 2021 as a CD, and can be heard on all the major online platforms. Vinyl copies of the record are also now available.

The album was recorded in Finland, Florida and Texas, USA. The project producer/guitarist is John Inmon from Bastrop, Texas, a recipient of the Texas Music Association Producer of the Year Award, who has worked with many of the greats from the “Lone Star State”, including Jerry Jeff Walker, Townes Van Zandt, Delbert McClinton, Omar & the Howlers, and many others. Playing pedal steel guitar is Grammy Award Winner Lloyd Maines from Austin, Texas.

The Finnish team is made up of some of the country’s most successful, top-quality musicians in the roots, rock n’ roll scene. With the release of this album, new doors are opening as a promotional tour is being planned for Summer 2022 with the core band from the studio-sessions, plus featured guest artists.

The newly formed “Thunder Mountain Records” based in Tampere, Finland, with cooperation in Austin, Texas is handling the CD and vinyl record production and distribution, as well as maintaining the digital presentation getting the songs heard through online platforms such as Spotify, iTunes, Amazon Music, etc. The album promotional campaign in Finland is being led by Heta Hyttinen of Ginger Vine Management in Helsinki, while the publicity for the rest of the EU is run by Jan Janssen from JohTheMa Productions in the Netherlands.

The graphic designer for the album cover is Kari Lahtinen at Karin Workshop Oy, and the project photographer is Harri Hinkka from Studio Harri Hinkka Oy.

As an introduction to the album, along with the first single “Razor Red Skies”, a music video has been produced by Katri Ilona Koppanen, owner of the motion picture, video, and television production company “Slow Crow Productions” in Helsinki. The creative and technical quality that she and her crew have applied has resulted in a visual and audio masterpiece, which premiered on October 1st, 2021.

Joe has stated that this has been a great experience to create such an album in all aspects, and he considers himself extremely fortunate to have had the help offered by so many talented people, and the opportunity to work with each one of them. For example, from the very beginning stages of the project, including song writing, arranging, and recording simple demos, co-writer and creative consultant Mikko Enqvist has been there to offer his complete support.

The musicians who Joe works with throughout the year on most of his full band performances consisting of Kalle Alatalo, Ville Rauhala, and Juppo Paavola provided a solid foundation to build upon, and an array of master instrumentalists and singers delivered the spice and décor to the album. The technical and artistic genius, Kari “Junnu” Luukkonen engineered the recording sessions at Headline Studios in Tampere, Finland.

Joe sends out a big thanks to John Inmon for guiding this melodic work of art. In the 1970s he listened to John’s masterful guitar work on records with Jerry Jeff Walker, and in the early 80’s Joe saw them live in concert in New York City. He recalls marveling at John’s performance, but little did he know that several years later, John Inmon would be the producer and lead guitarist on his first solo album. Joe has worked hard, but he continues to feel grateful to be able to create with such gifted artists, and proud to present a truly excellent record.

Joe Vestich – vocals, guitar
John Inmon – guitar
Kalle Alatalo – guitar
Juha Torvinen – guitar
Ville Rauhala – upright bass
Juppo Paavola – drums
Sami Sippola – saxophone
Lloyd Maines – pedal steel guitar
Okke Komulainen – keyboards
Eero “safka” Pekkonen – accordion
Frankie Shannon – backing vocals
Ila Loueranta – backing vocals
Janne Laurila – backing vocals
Laura Moisio – backing vocals
Lauri Myllymäki – backing vocals
Sami Ruusukallio – backing vocals

Joe would like to thank these co-operative companies